The following occurred on the island of Paros during the German occupation. After an act of sabotage by the Greeks against their conquerors, the German commander in retaliation apprehended and decided to execute one hundred and fifty young inhabitants of the island. His decision was final, and despite the supplications and mediations of mayors, bishops, and other prominent islanders, the German commander remained unyielding. Elder Philotheos Zervakos of blessed memory, the abbot of the sacred monastery of Logovarda at that time, invited the German commander along with his entourage to his monastery, intending to offer them hospitality. He gave them a warm reception and offered them a generous meal. He asked for the names of their family members and conducted a Supplicatory Canon to the Mother of God on their behalf. All this deeply touched the German commander. He was soothed, he was transformed, and at the completion of the service he asked Elder Philotheos to request any favor from him, except to revoke the execution of the misfortunate young hostages of the island. Father Philotheos said, “Before making any request, I first want you to give me your word of military honor that you will carry out what I ask.” “You have my word of military honor,” replied the German commander. Then, the ever-memorable Elder said, “I want you to include me with the one hundred and fifty hostages and execute me first.” This astonishing proposal “vanquished” the German commander, and, subsequently, he ordered that all the islanders who had been sentenced to death be released.

‍I am ever fascinated by the way that the lives of the saints and the virtuous can contribute to my approach to life. That is, I read a lot of things about how to perform well on a pragmatic level, and these assume a modern, analytical approach to life. Do this for that outcome. That’s why you’re here. a necessary and useful aproach, to be sure. Let’s not disparage the practical. But a story like this will not submit itself to that approach. Wisdom is what I need—take a break from the pragmatics, Brian.

(Credit: St. Nektarios Monastery, Roscoe, NY)

source