Bonnie Henry, B.C.’s much-loved leader on COVID, on the letter from 230 scientists to the WHO:

‘I actually think it’s a little bit of a tempest in a teapot in that we all agree on the extremes and we’re fussing a little bit about how much we need to focus on the bits in the middle,’ Henry said during Monday’s COVID-19 briefing.

Scientific acumen with even a dose of wisdom. A rare bird. Willing to see the forest and not the tress in this recent conversation (though I have no opinion on who is right here).

The contrast between the rhetoric of Henry versus that of (federal) U.S. leaders is striking. I saw that she’s recently been highlighted in the New York Times for her role in B.C.’s response to COVID. I wonder whether any U.S. regional health leaders have the respect that Henry does here. The few friends I talk to seem to indicate not.

(As a U.S. expat, I continue to pray for the U.S. and implore myself to maintain a sense of compassion for the difficult situation many of y’all find yourselves in—as we sit relatively comfortably here in Canada. Hang in there, friends!)